NEPTA Awards

Northeastern Pennsylvania Theatrical Alliance Awards

The brainchild of Jim Harris, the Northeastern Pennsylvania Theatrical Alliance, or NEPTA as it is commonly referred to, is an organization of nearly thirty theatrical groups, collegiate drama departments and regional newspapers whose primary purpose is to promote to the general public the wide range of talented theatrical groups active in the region. In 1994 Jim collected a handful of his talented colleagues including Eddie Reynolds, Mary Ann Ulichney, Nancy Kingsbury and Sean Harris and together they began writing the framework of an organization that today spans five counties and includes nearly every community theater active in Northeastern Pennsylvania. The alliance serves as a conduit for better communication between the groups and a way to share assets, be it talent, props or technicians. Also part of the mission is the annual NEPTA Awards Show. This is a black tie event that is likened to the areaŐs own TonyŐs Awards. Each second weekend of September all the member theaters close their doors so the public can attend this truly unique event. The previous yearŐs theatrical offering are honored as over twenty awards are given away in such categories as; Best Drama, Best Musical, Best Actress, and Best Chorus. Technical awards are also presented to Best Set Design, Best Costume Design and Most Innovative Effect. One of the highlights of the evening is the presentation of the LifeTime Achievement Award, given to an individual who represents the highest ideals of Community Theater. The gala includes lively dance numbers; performances of selected segments from the five plays nominated for Best Overall Production, comedic routines and spontaneous outbursts from both presenters and award recipient. Add to this, fine hors d'oeuvres and the anticipation of the opening of each envelope and you can see that it is a fine night for theater and great entertainment for us all.

2009 - Nominated - Best Comedy - The Eight: Reindeer Monologues (Bracken Theatre Company)

2009 - Nominated - Best Director of a Comedy - Kimmie Wrazien and Ilvin Nieves - The Eight: Reindeer Monologues (Bracken Theatre Company)

2009 - Winner - Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy - Christine Skiro - Dancer - The Eight: Reindeer Monologues (Bracken Theatre Company)

2009 - Winner - Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy - Billy Joe Herbert - Donner - The Eight: Reindeer Monologues (Bracken Theatre Company)